top of page

NEWS AND UPDATES:  news post

Tanner Carrick claims the Nor*Cal Posse Shootout

Tanner Carrick and Shane Hopkins claim wins at Nor*Cal Posse Shootout presented by High Sierra Industries finale

By Gary Thomas

Image courtesy of D&P Photos

Placerville, CA…Lincoln’s Tanner Carrick and Placerville’s Shane Hopkins raced to victories in their respective classes during the Nor*Cal Posse Shootout finale on Sunday at the Placerville Speedway. The last local show of the season in Old Hangtown provided entertaining racing all night long as the double header “shootout” weekend wrapped up. For Carrick it marked his sixth career Winged 360 Sprint Car victory at the track, tying him with Bryan Bullard, Mike Henry and Mason Moore on the all-time list. Hopkins earned his first with the Hunt Tour at the track, doing so by way of a clean sweep during the night.

Carrick started from the pole and battled with Aromas’ Justin Sanders for the lead on the opening lap. Oakley youngster Dylan Bloomfield immediately made his presence known by slicing to the inside of Sanders to fight for second. Excellent racing was seen all throughout the field as the surface had slicked off nicely. A long green flag run was had to begin things and with lapped traffic coming into play it gave Sanders a chance to close the gap.

Carving their way through the slower cars Carrick and Sanders put on a show navigating around the quarter mile bullring. At one point the top-five cars began to bunch up as Roseville’s Sean Becker entered the picture. “The Shark” made his way by Bloomfield to snag third before closing on the front duo. Lapped traffic continued to be heavy and as the laps wound down it was anybody’s race between the top-three cars.

Carrick drove an absolutely flawless race however and crossed under the Ron Stahl checkered flag for the $5,000 triumph.

Sanders completed a phenomenal Winged 360 season at Placerville Speedway by finishing runner up at the Nor*Cal Posse Shootout. The driver of the Dale Miller Septic No. 4sa captured five wins overall at the track. Becker put together a stout night to come home third after hounding the top-two during the waning stages. Saturday night winner Shane Golobic and the always hard charging Colby Copeland rounded out the top-five.

The remainder of the top-10 was filled out by Bloomfield, Kyle Hirst, Michael Faccinto, Tony Gomes and Gauge Garcia. A total of 34 cars competed at the final Winged 360 Sprint Car race of the season at Placerville. Justin Sanders earned his fourth fast time award of the year to open the evening and took home $200 thanks to ADCO Driveline and Sierra Foothills Wine Service.

Winged 360 Sprint Car Result – Nor*Cal Posse Shootout finale 34 Entries

A Main 35 Laps 1. 83T-Tanner Carrick[1]; 2. 4SA-Justin Sanders[2]; 3. 35-Sean Becker[4]; 4. 17W-Shane Golobic[8]; 5. 5B-Colby Copeland[9]; 6. 83V-Dylan Bloomfield[3]; 7. 94X-Kyle Hirst[13]; 8. X1-Michael Faccinto[7]; 9. 7C-Tony Gomes[15]; 10. 21X-Gauge Garcia[5]; 11. 3-Kaleb Montgomery[6]; 12. 31C-Justyn Cox[21]; 13. 98-Michael Pombo[23]; 14. 7P-Jake Andreotti[18]; 15. 38B-Blake Carrick[19]; 16. 42X-Ryan Robinson[14]; 17. 38-Colby Johnson[20]; 18. 121-Caeden Steele[11]; 19. 83SA-Isaiah Vasquez[17]; 20. 93-Stephen Ingraham[12]; 21. 9L-Luke Hayes[16]; 22. 21-Shane Hopkins[24]; 23. 5V-Landon Brooks[10]; 24. 92-Andy Forsberg[22]

B Main 12 Laps 1. 31C-Justyn Cox[5]; 2. 92-Andy Forsberg[2]; 3. 98-Michael Pombo[10]; 4. 21-Shane Hopkins[1]; 5. 3T-JJ Ringo[4]; 6. 25S-Seth Standley[11]; 7. 33H-Eric Humphries[12]; 8. 2-Alex Pettas[8]; 9. 75-Bill Smith[13]; 10. 77-Ryan Lippincott[7]; 11. 5A-Lonny Alton[14]; 12. 25-Justin Johnson[3]; 13. 34-Andy Gregg[6]

Heat 1 10 Laps 1. 17W-Shane Golobic[2]; 2. 5B-Colby Copeland[3]; 3. 4SA-Justin Sanders[4]; 4. 7C-Tony Gomes[5]; 5. 7P-Jake Andreotti[6]; 6. 21-Shane Hopkins[7]; 7. 31C-Justyn Cox[8]; 8. 5H-Willie Croft[1]; 9. 5A-Lonny Alton[9]

Heat 2 10 Laps 1. 83V-Dylan Bloomfield[2]; 2. 5V-Landon Brooks[1]; 3. 94X-Kyle Hirst[3]; 4. 3-Kaleb Montgomery[4]; 5. 38B-Blake Carrick[5]; 6. 92-Andy Forsberg[7]; 7. 34-Andy Gregg[8]; 8. 25S-Seth Standley[6]; 9. 75-Bill Smith[9]

Heat 3 10 Laps 1. X1-Michael Faccinto[1]; 2. 93-Stephen Ingraham[2]; 3. 21X-Gauge Garcia[4]; 4. 9L-Luke Hayes[3]; 5. 38-Colby Johnson[5]; 6. 25-Justin Johnson[6]; 7. 2-Alex Pettas[8]; 8. 33H-Eric Humphries[7]

Heat 4 10 Laps 1. 98-Michael Pombo[5]; 2. 35-Sean Becker[3]; 3. 121-Caeden Steele[2]; 4. 42X-Ryan Robinson[6]; 5. 83T-Tanner Carrick[4]; 6. 83SA-Isaiah Vasquez[1]; 7. 3T-JJ Ringo[7]; 8. 77-Ryan Lippincott[8]

The Joe Hunt Magnetos Wingless Tour celebrated the 75th anniversary of Joe Hunt Magnetos on Sunday night. The overall event was dominated by Placerville’s own Shane Hopkins, who set fast time, won his heat race, claimed the Kiwi Pole Shuffle and the 25-lap feature event. Saturday night winner Jake Morgan closed the gap a few times late in the going, but Hopkins hit his marks lap after lap and accepted the Ron Stahl checkered flag for victory aboard the familiar Brian Sperry/ C&H Veteran Ent. No. 51 machine.

Despite Hopkins having his way out front the action behind him remained intense as various drivers attempted to knock down the thick cushion that had developed. Morgan had to settle for second at the finish to cap off a strong weekend of racing. Daniel Whitley was fun to watch in the main event and came home third, followed by the high side hustler Shawn Jones in fourth and Gilroy’s Jarrett Soares in fifth. Nick Larson, Josh Young, Dylan Newberry, Shawn Arriaga and Nick Robfogel rounded out the top-10.

Hunt Magnetos Wingless 360 Sprint Car Results - 31 Entries

A Feature 25 Laps 1. 51-Shane Hopkins[1]; 2. 7M-Jake Morgan[2]; 3. 3T-Daniel Whitley[3]; 4. 14-Shawn Jones[7]; 5. 12-Jarrett Soares[6]; 6. 24N-Nick Larson[10]; 7. 7EJ-Josh Young[5]; 8. 63-Dylan Newberry[8]; 9. 32-Shawn Arriaga[17]; 10. 3-Nick Robfogel[18]; 11. 3F-Jacob Tuttle[9]; 12. 7-Trey Walters[13]; 13. 2STX-Brent Steck[11]; 14. 1-Nathan Schank[14]; 15. 79-Mark Hanson[12]; 16. 16-Nathan Johnson[15]; 17. 17T-Grasen Ternora[19]; 18. 33-Heath Holdsclaw[20]; 19. 17-Anthony Snow[16]; 20. 66S-Zack Albers[4]



bottom of page