top of page

NEWS AND UPDATES:  news post

Shane Hopkins Highlights John Padjen Kids Bike Night With Thrilling Win as Jinkerson, Miller, and Slaney Also Score

Photos- Tim Holland

PETERSEN MEDIA: Saturday night at Placerville Speedway, John Padjen Kids Bike Night pres. by The Pizza Factory was a memorable one for all in attendance. Not only were fans treated to a great night of racing that saw Shane Hopkins, Kevin Jinkerson, Mike Miller and Anthony Slaney each score wins, those young fans in attendance also got to test their grit in our annual Kids’s Bike Races made famous by former track promoter John Padjen back in the late 1980’s.


The Thompson’s Family of Dealerships 360 Sprint Car division had a total of 23 cars check in for attendance, and with the track points battle ultra-tight heading into the thick of summer, our top three drivers mixed it up all race long.


Leading the field to green was Bubba DeCaires and Seth Standley, and it was DeCaires getting the early jump before the caution flew for Standley, Shane Hopkins, and Jake Haulot who were all running in the early Top-Five.


When the action resumed, DeCaires led the way as he chased after his first career win at the Speedway, but he felt pressure from young gun Austin Wood, as well as grizzled veteran Andy Forsberg as they jockeyed around the slick Placerville bullring.


While the lead trio got into traffic, deep in the field Shane Hopkins was quickly rebounding from his opening lap tangle as he raced into the Top-10 and was back into fourth by the eighth lap.


A lap 11 restart saw Hopkins power into second as he chased after DeCaires and then used the middle of the track to surge into the race lead on the 14th lap much to the crowds approval after restarting last.


Up front, Hopkins had a very strong car as was able to power to his second career Winged 360 Sprint Car win as Andy Forsberg made a late move to take second from DeCaires who rounded out the podium.


Austin Wood kicked the night off by earning his first career ADCO Drivelines and Custom Exhaust Fast Time award, and heat race wins went to Tony Gomes, DeCaires, and Standley.


Returning to action for the first time since May, the Mt Democrat Limited Late Models had 15 cars check in, and for the second race in a row it was Martinez, CA driver, Anthony Slaney scoring the win.


When the 20-lapper came to life, Auburn, CA’s Ray Trimble jumped out to the early lead as Slaney gave chase. With the track having grip in LLM action, Trimble set a torrid pace, but Slaney was better as he tracked the former track champion down.


On the eighth marker, Slaney made his move to get around Trimble and set sail. Out in front, he continued to work the low groove of the speedway and raced through traffic to perfection.


With Ron Stahl’s checkered flag flyin in the air, Slaney scored the win over Dan Brown Jr, and Matt Micheli. Heat race wins went to Micheli and Brown, Jr.,


After having strong showing in two previous Red Hawk Casino Pro Stock races, Kevin Jinkerson was not to be denied on Saturday night. Lining up on the front row alongside Tommy Sturgeon, the Diamond Springs, CA driver powered into the lead and set a strong pace early as he got away from Sturgeon and Nick Baldwin.


Over the course of the race, Baldwin closed in on Jinkerson who led from the onset but could not quite muster a charge to challenge for the top spot. Able to move around the track in traffic, Jinkerson kept the field at bay as he picked up the win over Baldwin and Wayne Trimble.  Heat race action on Saturday night saw Baldwin and Dan Jinkerson each pick up wins.


Mike Miller has been the man to beat in Mt Democrat Mini Truck competition in 2024, but Saturday night he had to fight hard to earn another feature event win as he chased after the aforementioned Kevin Jinkerson who was doing double-duty on this night.


Lining up on the outside of the third row for the feature event, Kevin Jinkerson had a great start and surged into the early lead as he showcased a very strong start in the early goings of the feature event.


Setting a torrid pace out front, behind him Mike Miller was working his way forward and slowly cutting into his lead.


With Jinkerson continuing to lead the way as the 20-lapper drew to  a close, Miller wasn’t done as he reached his rear bumped with three-laps left in the race.


Using the high-side, Miller was able to build up his momentum and drive around Jinkerson coming to the white flag, and quickly dipped low to take his line away as they raced into turns one and two.


Hitting his marks in turns three and four, Miller went on to capture his third feature event win of the year as Jinkerson and Luke Costa followed suit. Mini Truck heat race wins went to Mike Miller and Michael Barreno.


The action returns to Placerville Speedway this coming week for two shows, including the famed Freedom and Firework event on July 4th!


With a sellout crowd expected to be on hand, Placerville Speedway will utlize reserved seating, so fans are encouraged to click over the PlacervilleSpeedway.Com/Schedule and grab tickets ASAP.


ON TAP: Placerville Speedway roars back to life on July 4th for the annual Freedom and Freedom show.   


STAY CONNECTED: Stay up to date with all things Placerville Speedway by following along on Twitter @PVilleSpeedway, or becoming a fan on Facebook at


If you can’t make it to the track, CaliDirt.TV is the official streaming partner of Placerville Speedway.


PETERSEN MEDIA: Petersen Media is a promotional agency that can handle your public relations, marketing, and any other promotional needs. Petersen Media utilizes multiple tactics to help you reach your intended audience, and boost awareness.




bottom of page