• Russell Motorsports

Sanders becomes a three-time Tribute to Al Hinds winner

By Gary Thomas

Images courtesy of Devin M Photography

Placerville, CA – April 10, 2021…When you are hot, you’re hot and Justin Sanders has started 2021 like a blazing inferno. The Aromas, California competitor continued his torrid pace in the early season on Saturday, becoming the first driver to reach three career wins in the annual “Tribute to Al Hinds” at Placerville Speedway.

Sharing victory lane with Sanders during the entertaining night of racing were Ray Trimble with the Ltd. Late Models, Nick Baldwin with the Pure Stocks and Ryan Winter with the Nor-Cal Dwarf Car Association. With fans in the stands again it created an electrifying atmosphere to honor the former Promoter of Placerville Speedway, Al Hinds.

The 25-lap Thompson’s Family of Dealerships Winged 360 feature got off to a rough start when Tracy’s Kyle Offill was squeezed into the hill off turn two. The result was Offill going for a nasty tumble, but luckily he emerged from the car okay. When going green on the next attempt things were fast and furious on the quarter-mile bullring with slide jobs aplenty.

Roseville’s Colby Copeland set the early pace with Sanders, Lincoln’s Tanner Carrick and host of others in pursuit. A long green flag run allowed drivers to navigate their way through lapped traffic and Copeland did a fabulous job early until Sanders began to close in on the VSR No. 5V machine. The pair proceeded to put on a delightful duel for the lead, exchanging the top-spot multiple times before Sanders assumed the position with just a handful of laps remaining.

A late caution gave Sanders an open track and after that he kicked it into overdrive, pulling away from the field to accept the Ron Stahl checkered flag aboard the potent Thompson’s Auto/ Dale Miller Septic No. 4SA Sprinter. It marked his 15th career Thompson’s Winged Sprint Car triumph at Placerville, moving him into a tie for 11th all-time with past track champions Billy Wallace and Colby Wiesz. T. Carrick and Copeland gave the fans a show over the closing laps, which saw Carrick come home second and Copeland in third.

Auburn’s Andy Forsberg and Foresthill’s Ryan Robinson diced it up in exciting fashion towards the end as well, before finishing fourth and fifth respectively. Blake Carrick, Justyn Cox, Chase Johnson, Joel Myers Jr. and Chase Majdic rounded out the top-10. The nights B-main went to Joel Myers Jr., with the four 10-lap heats claimed by Blake Carrick, Ryan Robinson, Shane Hopkins and Colby Copeland. Tanner Carrick opened the night by earning the ADCO Driveline and Custom Exhaust Fast Time Award by clocking a 10.796 around the quarter-mile. A total of 33 Winged Sprinters competed at the second point race of 2021.

The 20-lap Pure Stock feature made for some of the most thrilling action during the night. Sacramento’s Jason Palmer started from the front row and jumped to the lead with Orville Owens and Nick Baldwin in hot pursuit. A wide and multiple-groove surface gave the Pure Stock drivers a chance to showcase their skills as they raced high, low and in the middle of the El Dorado County Fairgrounds bullring.

As the main event wound down it became a dogfight up front between the top-three competitors, which included Dan Jinkerson after Owens hopped the cushion off turn two. Baldwin looked to find a way by Palmer on several occasions and when the white flag waved, he made his move. As the crowd came to their feet Palmer, Baldwin and Jinkerson battled it out to the finish. Palmer got a bit wide off the final corner, which allowed Baldwin and Jinkerson to sneak underneath.