top of page

NEWS AND UPDATES:  news post

Justin Sanders continues Placerville mastery

Justin Sanders, Dan Jinkerson and Ryan Robinson bring home electrifying wins at Placerville Speedway

By Gary Thomas

Placerville, CA…A capacity crowd was treated to a solid night of racing and a spectacular fireworks display to highlight the festivities at Placerville Speedway on Independence Day.

Aromas, CA’s Justin Sanders finished the night by racing to his fifth victory in as many Winged 360 Sprint Car starts at the track. Diamond Springs’ Dan Jinkerson pocketed an entertaining Ltd. Late Model feature, while Foresthill’s Ryan Robinson captured a thrilling Pure Stock win. All three divisions presented the large crowd with an excellent evening of grass roots dirt track racing.

The 25-lap Thompson’s Winged Sprint Car main event began with Easton driver Michael Pombo leading the opening lap, before Justin Sanders was able to slip to his inside for the top spot shortly after. All eyes were glued to Chase Johnson however, who ran the ragged edge of the quarter-mile in exciting fashion. The Penngrove driver rocketed up to second and began to challenge the leader, until he got over the edge in turn one to draw a caution.

As is the norm with Sanders up front it made things difficult for the rest of the field, although he did feel pressure on a few different restarts from both Pombo and Lincoln’s Blake Carrick. He did not let that shake him however and drove away to accept the Darin Stahl checkered flag for his 21st career Winged 360 triumph at the track. Blake Carrick crossed the stripe in second to cap a strong weekend that also saw him win at Marysville on Friday.

Pombo earned his first career Placerville Speedway podium in third, Isaiah Vasquez matched his best ever finish at the track in fourth and Gauge Garcia completed the top-five to also bring home a career best on the red clay. Andy Forsberg, Ryan Robinson, 17th starter Jodie Robinson, 18th starter Jimmy Trulli and Shane Hopkins rounded out the top-10. A total of 28 Thompson’s Family of Dealerships Winged Sprint Cars competed on Independence Day.

Winged Sprint Car finish: 1. 4SA-Justin Sanders[2]; 2. 38B-Blake Carrick[8]; 3. 98M-Michael Pombo[1]; 4. 83SA-Isaiah Vasquez[6]; 5. 21X-Gauge Garcia[11]; 6. 92-Andy Forsberg[10]; 7. 7C-Ryan Robinson[7]; 8. 4-Jodie Robinson[17]; 9. 33T-Jimmy Trulli[18]; 10. 21-Shane Hopkins[13]; 11. X1-Michael Faccinto[12]; 12. 21M-Michael Ing[15]; 13. 94-Greg Decaires V[19]; 14. 93-Stephen Ingraham[20]; 15. 83T-Tanner Carrick[5]; 16. 83V-Ricky Sanders[3]; 17. 85-CJ Humphreys[14]; 18. 34-Andy Gregg[16]; 19. 28-Chase Johnson[4]; 20. 01-Kalib Henry[9]

The Mountain Democrat Ltd. Late Models put on some of the best racing we have seen all season long during the Freedom Fireworks spectacular. A well-groomed racing surface allowed for two and three wide action at times. Current point leader Dan Jinkerson started from the pole and held command out front, but it was not easy for the defending track champ. A bevy of drivers fought it out behind him with one of the best shows turned in by Lincoln’s Dan Brown Jr.

Brown found the high-scary side to his liking and blasted around the thick cushion, all the while dealing with several challengers, including Ray Trimble, Matt Michelli, Jay Norton and others. He closed up and kept the leader honest, but Jinkerson hit his marks and took home his fourth victory of the season in five races. Brown crossed the stripe in second, with Trimble third, Michelli fourth and Norton in fifth. A total of 18 Ltd. Late Models signed into the pit area for what fell under the Xtreme Series sanction.

Ltd. Late Model finish: 1. 23-Dan Jinkerson[1]; 2. 15-Dan Brown Jr[6]; 3. 37-Ray Trimble[3]; 4. 96M-Matt Micheli[4]; 5. 15J-Jay Norton[9]; 6. 23J-Tyler Lightfoot[11]; 7. 57-Rod Oliver[8]; 8. 3-Eddie Gardner[7]; 9. 196-Joey Olschowka Jr[13]; 10. 98-Kiely Ricardo[10]; 11. 3X-Josh Combs[12]; 12. 4X-Anthony Slaney[2]; 13. 29-Matt Davis[5]; 14. 01-Terry Kaiser[14]

The Red Hawk Casino Pure Stocks ended up contesting a 15-lap feature due to time, but in that span, they absolutely brought the house down with an outstanding main event. Like the Late Models, two and three wide racing was prevalent all race long with the Pure Stocks. Early on it was Jason Armstrong who looked to snag his first victory of the season as he led the hungry pack of drivers.

Sprint Car competitor Ryan Robinson made his second career Pure Stock start and thrilled the crowd producing several bold passes after starting from the fifth row. He eventually found himself up front but then had to deal with severe front-suspension damage over the closing circuits. Diamond Springs’ Kevin Jinkerson tried everything to get by the wounded car of Robinson, but the 21-year-old wheeled the machine for all it was worth.

Jinkerson gave it one final shot in the last corner, but Robinson beat him out by less than half a car length for an exhilarating first career Pure Stock win. Wayne Trimble ended up finishing third, with Nick Baldwin battling back to run fourth and Clarence Holbrook rounded out the top-five. Sixteen Pure Stocks competed during the 4th of July extravaganza.

Pure Stock finish: 1. 23-Ryan Robinson[10]; 2. 30-Kevin Jinkerson[7]; 3. 68E-Wayne Trimble[9]; 4. 17-Nick Baldwin[12]; 5. 2H-Clarence Holbrook[5]; 6. 77T-Jason Armstrong[2]; 7. 87-Jason Poppert[3]; 8. 64-Thomas Jensen[4]; 9. 316-Ryan Murphy[17]; 10. 47-Michael Murphy[11]; 11. 47B-Angela Brown[14]; 12. 93-Mel Byers[1]; 13. 4-Jonny Walsh[16]; 14. 1-Chris D'angelo[18]; 15. 42F-Les Friend[13]; 16. 16-Tommy Sturgeon[8]; 17. 74-Russell Murphy[6]

The Placerville Speedway returns to action this Saturday with Red Hawk Casino Night at the Races. On tap will be the Thompson’s Winged 360 Sprint Cars, the Red Hawk Casino Pure Stocks, Mtn. Democrat Mini Trucks and the BCRA Lightning Sprints.

Images courtesy of Tim Holland and Pat Brandon



bottom of page