top of page

NEWS AND UPDATES:  news post

Golobic wins the battle, Forsberg wins the war at Placerville

Shane Golobic, Dan Jinkerson and Bobby Michnowicz claim Legends Night wins at Placerville Speedway Andy Forsberg and Nick Baldwin wrap up titles

By Gary Thomas

Image courtesy of Chris Silva Photos

Placerville, CA…A packed house of enthusiastic race fans on Saturday night saw Fremont’s Shane Golobic race to his first Placerville Speedway victory of the year, while Auburn’s Andy Forsberg wrapped up his record ninth Thompson’s Winged 360 Sprint Car title at the facility.

It was a memorable night as California natives Paul and Bobby McMahan wrapped up their long-time racing careers back home where it all started. Rick Hirst also organized and led the charge in getting several names from the days gone by to take part in the festivities. It was an incredible glimpse at the history and evolution of racing at Placerville Speedway, which dates back to 1965.

Diamond Springs’ Dan Jinkerson took over sole possession of second place all-time in Pure Stock/ Super Stock wins during the night. In the end however, it was Oakley’s Nick Baldwin who locked up his fourth career Red Hawk Casino Pure Stock championship. With the BCRA vs California Lightning Sprints it was all about veteran Bobby Michnowicz, who dominated the 25-lapper. Right around 90 cars filled the pits between the Winged 360s, Pure Stocks, Lightning Sprints and Vintage Hard Tops.

The 25-lap Thompson’s Family of Dealerships Winged Sprint Car finale saw Fresno’s Dominic Scelzi jump into the early lead ahead of Shane Golobic and Justin Sanders, who battled for second. Caution flags slowed the pace early on, as Golobic was able to get past Scelzi for the lead following one of the restarts. Once out front, Golobic had no worries and went unchallenged over the remaining distance to pick up his first victory since early June.

It marked the 11th Winged 360 triumph at the bullring for the driver of the Matt Wood Racing/ NOS Energy Drink No. 17w. Roseville’s Colby Copeland has made limited starts at Placerville this year but continued to show that he’s one of the best at navigating the red clay. Copeland started eighth in the feature and drove up to earn his second runner up finish of the season at the track in just three appearances.

Easton’s Michael Pombo continued to impress at Placerville as well, looking very racy in the feature, before coming home third. It marked his third podium effort of the season at the quarter-mile. Three-time SCCT champ Kyle Hirst is another that hasn’t raced much this year but put together a strong run charging from 12th to fourth, while Tanner Carrick also had a solid outing, carving his way from 14th to fifth. Completing the top-10 were Scelzi, Kalib Henry, 18th starter Max Mittry, Dylan Bloomfield and Tim Kaeding.

Andy Forsberg didn’t quite have the night he may have hoped for, but an 11th place finish in the feature was good enough to secure his ninth Placerville Speedway championship. With one title under his belt this year the decorated competitor now looks to bring home the Sprint Car Challenge Tour championship with five races remaining.

A stellar field of 44 Thompson’s Winged Sprint Cars signed in for the final point race of the season on Saturday. Colfax veteran Willie Croft began the evening by touring the Placerville Speedway in 10.917 seconds to score the ADCO Driveline and Custom Exhaust Fast Time Award.

Winged Sprint Car results: 1. 17W-Shane Golobic[3]; 2. 5B-Colby Copeland[8]; 3. 98M-Michael Pombo[4]; 4. 94X-Kyle Hirst[12]; 5. 83T-Tanner Carrick[14]; 6. 41-Dominic Scelzi[1]; 7. 17-Kalib Henry[5]; 8. 2X-Max Mittry[18]; 9. 83V-Dylan Bloomfield[11]; 10. 42X-Tim Kaeding[7]; 11. 92-Andy Forsberg[10]; 12. 121-Caeden Steele[19]; 13. 93-Stephen Ingraham[16]; 14. 21M-Michael Ing[13]; 15. 4SA-Justin Sanders[2]; 16. 29-Willie Croft[6]; 17. 5H-Blake Carrick[9]; 18. 34-Andy Gregg[20]; 19. 12J-John Clark[15]; 20. 22-Ryan Bernal[17]

The final Red Hawk Casino Pure Stock main event of the year was an all out battle up front for much of the contest. Nick Baldwin, driving an unfamiliar car raced tooth and nail with Dan Jinkerson, Ryan Peter, Jason Poppert and others. The “Diamond Springs Dynamite” and Baldwin went side by side for numerous laps until Jinkerson got the traction and solidified the lead.

Jinkerson, who wrapped up the Ltd. Late Model championship two weeks prior, went on to accept the Ron Stahl checkered flag for his 37th career Pure Stock victory at the venue.

Poppert showed immense speed once again and crossed the stripe in second after starting from the fourth row. Baldwin brought home a third-place finish and locked up the Red Hawk Casino Pure Stock title. The always exciting driver tallied five wins in 2022. Rounding out the top-five in the feature were Rio Linda’s Ryan Peter and Diamond Springs’ Kevin Jinkerson.

Pure Stock results: 1. 23-Dan Jinkerson[3]; 2. 87-Jason Poppert[7]; 3. 17-Nick Baldwin[1]; 4. 83-Ryan Peter[2]; 5. 30-Kevin Jinkerson[8]; 6. 73-Kenny Bernstein[10]; 7. 93-Mel Byers[13]; 8. 52-Mike Lightfoot[5]; 9. 196-Micky Dangelo[11]; 10. 316-Ryan Murphy[4]; 11. 27-William Upton[15]; 12. 1-Chris D'angelo[12]; 13. 4-Jonny Walsh[6]; 14. 68E-Wayne Trimble[9]

The Civil War showcase put on by the BCRA vs California Lightning Sprints was thoroughly dominated by veteran Bobby Michnowicz. The five-time CLS champion got out front and pulled away from the field to score the victory over Cody Nigh, Dakota Albright, Friday night winner at Chico Connor Spier and Greg Dennett. Rounding out the top-10 were Hunter Kinney, Eric Greco Jr., David Gasper, Will Browne and Harlee Aguilera. Matt Land began the night by setting fast time in the 23-car field.

The BCRA and California Lightning Sprints will return to Placerville Speedway, minus the wings, during all three nights of the Hangtown 100 in November.

BCRA vs CLS results: 1. 21K-Bobby Michnowicz[4]; 2. 45-Cody Nigh[1]; 3. 35JR-Dakota Albright[5]; 4. 57-Connor Spier[10]; 5. 47-Greg Dennett[3]; 6. 25K-Hunter Kinney[11]; 7. 8G-Eric Greco Jr[9]; 8. 18-David Gasper[13]; 9. 8-Will Browne[14]; 10. 17F-Harlee Aguilera[7]; 11. 3F-Brandon Leedy[12]; 12. 42-Jon Robertson[16]; 13. 27-Nick Chivello[20]; 14. 21J-Jayden Meyer[17]; 15. 11S-Danielle Clauson Sevo[22]; 16. 99-Gage Meyers[15]; 17. 4-Jeff Dyer[2]; 18. 91-Matt Land[6]; 19. 18F-Josef Ferolito[8]; 20. 28K-Kaden Ramos[21]; 21. 17-Scott Kinney[18]

The Placerville Speedway now gears up for the two-night “Nor*Cal Posse Shootout” on Labor Day weekend. Both shows on Saturday and Sunday September 3rd and 4th feature Winged 360 Sprint Cars and the Joe Hunt Magnetos Wingless Tour.



bottom of page