top of page

NEWS AND UPDATES:  news post

Danny Wagner, Bobby Hogge, Kevin Jinkerson and Fred Ryland claim Tilford Tribute victories at Placer

Placerville, CA – April 27, 2019…The Donnie Tilford Tribute once again did not disappoint on Saturday night at the Placerville Speedway, with the action being hot and heavy, which ultimately ended with Danny Wagner claiming the $1,500-to-win IMCA Dirt Modified finale.

Also picking up exciting victories at the Donnie Tilford Tribute were veteran Bobby Hogge with the Ltd. Late Models, Kevin Jinkerson with the Jay’s Mobile Welding & Fabricating Pure Stocks and Fred Ryland with the IMCA Sport Mods. A total of 76 race cars filled the pit area to honor the late great Donnie Tilford during the evening.

With the IMCA Dirt Modifieds it was Wagner who jumped into the lead at the waving of the Ron Stahl green flag. It was the first time in several years that the division competed on the Placerville bullring and fans were treated to some fantastic racing all through the field. Wagner had to fend off the relentless challenges of “Tricky” Troy Foulger over much of the race, who was running the low line to perfection.

Wagner remained committed to the high-side of the track however, as he ripped the lip around the speedway. Some outstanding battles were seen up front as Nick Decarlo, Tim Balding, Bobby Hogge and others tussled throughout the 25-lap feature. As the laps wound Foulger made a bid to the inside for the lead, but couldn’t stick it off turn two and Wagner sliced back to his inside. Foulger stayed close, but Wagner never faltered and went on to take the checkered flag and earn his first IMCA Dirt Modified victory.

Wagner also doubles as one of the top Dwarf Car drivers in the state and has raced to four career wins at Placerville Speedway respectively. Foulger, Decarlo, Balding and track regular Ray Trimble rounded out the top-five. The top-10 was completed by Buddy Kniss, Kellen Chadwick, Ryan Porter, Justin Fouz and Freddie Plourde. The night’s B-main was picked off by Danny Roblee, with the three heat races claimed by Tim Balding, Troy Foulger and Danny Wagner. A total of 21 Dirt Modifieds were on hand for the event.

The Ltd. Late Model main event was also a thriller right down to the end that saw the man, the myth, the legend Bobby Hogge of Salinas make a final corner pass to claim the $750 victory. For the second straight week it was Tyler Lightfoot who grabbed the lead at the start and he looked poised to pick up the big win on the night. Last season he captured the Carnett Clash at Placerville Speedway and ended up leading the first 19 laps in Saturday’s Tilford Tribute. Intense action was seen behind him with Ryan McDaniel and Dan Brown Jr. battling hard with Hogge for the runner up spot during much of the race.

Lightfoot had his way out front but once Hogge assumed second the race was on for the win. Hogge methodically closed the gap on Lightfoot and when the white flag waved he was right there. As the pair rounded the final corner Lightfoot didn’t get the run he wanted upstairs and Hogge slide underneath him to steal the win away in exciting fashion on the last turn. Brown Jr., McDaniel and Norton finished third through fifth. The two heat races held during the night were snagged by Bobby Hogge and Ryan McDaniel. For the only time this season the Ltd. Late Models qualified on the clock to start the event. McDaniel’s time of 14.943 topped the 10-car field.

The Jay’s Mobile Welding & Fabricating Pure Stocks also put on an exciting display of racing in their 20-lap A-main at the Tilford Tribute. In the end it was Kevin Jinkerson who claimed his first career Placerville Speedway Pure Stock victory. A number of movers and shakers were seen during the main event that featured Jason Palmer take the early lead before issues forced him to the pit area. John Ewing then looked to be a favorite to bring home the grand prize until he got into a spin and was forced to the rear of the field.

Jinkerson then found himself out front but had a very fast Dave Silva hounding his rear bumper. Jinkerson was able to hold him off though and take the checkered flag for that elusive first victory. Thanks to extra money from Little Folks University the triumph paid him a solid $775. Silva, Nick Baldwin, Mel Byers and Ewing, who charged back through the field rounded out the top-five. Dennis Armstrong, Jesse “The Savage” Bryant, Tim Mchenry, Lonnie Leonard and Stephanie Hansen filled the top-10.

Heat race wins went to Nick Baldwin, Jarred Beddow and Jason Leonard. The Jay’s Mobile Welding & Fabricating Pure Stocks also qualified to begin the evening, which saw Baldwin pace the 21-car field with a 15.767.

The IMCA Sport Mods also gave the crowd something to cheer about as Fred Ryland blasted around the outside of the Placerville Speedway to score the $500 victory. Mark Garner led much of the early stages as drivers fought for position behind him. Several three-wide battles were seen as competitors raced on every inch of the quarter-mile. Ryland started inside row four and picked cars off one by one, eventually taking the lead as the laps wound down. He crossed under the checkered flag to beat out Garner, Guy Ahlwardt, Brian Cooper and Andrew Peckham who filled out the top-five.

The remainder of the top-10 was comprised of Todd Cooper, Tanner Thomas, Les Friend, Kenny Shrader and Mike Merritt. The evenings B-main was won by Timothy Allerdings, with the three heat races picked off by Andrew Peckham, KC Keller and Guy Ahlwardt. A solid showing of 23 IMCA Sport Mods competed at the Donnie Tilford Tribute.

Racing returns to Placerville Speedway next Saturday May 4th with Big Trophy Night featuring the Thompson’s Family of Dealerships Winged 360 Sprint Cars, Ltd Late Models, Jay’s Mobile Welding & Fabricating Pure Stocks and BCRA Midget Lites. More info can be found at

bottom of page