top of page

NEWS AND UPDATES:  news post

Andy Forsberg scores fourth Placerville Speedway win of 2018

Andy Forsberg, Maria Cofer, Fred Ryland and Cody Dingess earn wins on Campora Night at Placerville Speedway

Placerville, CA – …Auburn, California’s Andy Forsberg started from the pole in the main event and held off a late-race bid from Justyn Cox to snag his fourth Thompson’s Auto Group Winged 360 Sprint Car win of the season on Saturday night.

Also sharing Placerville Speedway victory lane during “Campora Propane Night” were Maria Cofer with the BCRA Midgets, Fred Ryland with the Sport Mods and Cody Dingess with the Mini Trucks.

Forsberg shot to the lead at the waving of the green flag in the 25-lap Thompson’s Auto Group Winged 360 Sprint Car feature and held a steady advantage early on, as cautions plagued much of the contest. Lincoln’s Tanner Carrick was fresh off his first career Sprint Car victory the night before and started applying the heat to Forsberg after several laps. The biggest moment of the race occurred on lap 13 when the lapped car of Bubba Decaires got sideways and eventually tipped over right in front of the leaders.

Forsberg got a slight piece of the action and suffered some top wing damage but was able to continue. The same couldn’t be said for Carrick however, who contacted Decaires’ machine and came to a stop. Carrick restarted from the rear and eventually went on to finish 11th. The remainder of the race saw last weeks Mark Forni Classic winner Justyn Cox come hard after Forsberg trying to find a way by. His best shot looked to be in lapped traffic, but a red flag with three circuits remaining took that chance away.

When the green waved for the final time Cox kept pace and got a great run on the final lap to make up ground but couldn’t get by and the Friends &