top of page

NEWS AND UPDATES:  news post

Sanders, Lightfoot, Baldwin and Littlejohn earn Placerville Speedway wins Saturday

Carnett Clash wins at Placerville Speedway go to Justin Sanders, Tyler Lightfoot, Nick Baldwin and John Littlejohn

Placerville, CA – June 23, 2018…Justin Sanders, Tyler Lightfoot, Nick Baldwin and John Littlejohn shared Placerville Speedway victory lane on Saturday during an exciting night of dirt track racing at the third annual Carnett Clash.

The evening as a whole honored the late Bryan Carnett, who spent over a decade at the quarter-mile, owning, driving and sponsoring teams in the stock car divisions.

Sanders last season earned a pair of wins with the Thompson’s Auto Group Winged 360 Sprint Cars and became the fifth different winner in five races this season on Saturday. The Aromas, CA driver started on the pole and battled his way to the lead early on. He felt pressure over the first number of laps from Hollister’s Ryan Bernal and Auburn’s Andy Forsberg, who battle just behind the Dale Miller owned No. 4SA sprinter.

Track prep crews did a phenomenal job and gave drivers multiple lines to use on the Placerville bullring. Hollister’s Tony Gualda would eventually move his way past both Forsberg and Bernal to then give chase after Sanders. Gualda had finished second twice before already this season and was in search of his first career Winged Sprint Car win. Sanders never faltered out front though and raced off to take the checkered flag by just under a second back to Gualda.

Forsberg, Bernal and Lincoln’s Tanner Carrick rounded out the top-five. Kyle Offill, Jimmy Trulli, Jake Morgan, Cody Lamar and Justin Johnson completed the top-10. Heat race wins went to Tanner Carrick and Jimmy Trulli. The ADCO Driveline and Custom Exhaust Fast Time Award to start the evening was set by Andy Forsberg with a time of 10.868. A total of 17 Thompson’s Auto Group Winged 360 Sprint Cars were on hand during the night.

Tyler Lightfoot did a fantastic job to bring home the $1,000 victory with the Ltd. Late Models during Saturday’s Carnett Clash. The main event showcased tremendous racing with drivers fighting high and low all throughout the field. Matt Michelli, Ray Trimble and Jay Norton battled it out behind Lightfoot for much of the feature. Michelli eventually got into second, but Lightfoot was oh so smooth out front and claimed the checked flag by 1.890 seconds back to Michelli.

Trimble finished just behind Michelli in third, while Norton and Eddie Gardner completed the top-five. The remainder of the top-10 was comprised of Mike Lightfoot, Matt Davis, Dennis Ahart, Rod Oliver and George Magenheimer. Twelve Ltd. Late Models were in competition on Saturday. Heat race wins were picked off by Rod Oliver and Ray Trimble.

The Pure Stocks continued the trend with an exciting 20-lap contest, which ultimately saw Nick Baldwin pick up his first victory of the 2018 season. The No. 74 machine of Russ Murphy held command for much of the race and was in search of his first Placerville Speedway triumph of the season. Scott Grunert, Jason Palmer, Baldwin and others fought hard for position each and every lap behind Murphy. As the race wore on Baldwin assumed the second spot and came after Murphy for the lead.

A wild finish ensued and looked as if Murphy would bring home the win, only to have a caution wave just before the checkered. It set up a green-white-checkered restart where Baldwin made a wild move off the final corner to get past Murphy, but like de ja vu all over again the yellow waved prior to the checkered. The final restart saw Baldwin get the momentum he needed up high to grab the lead and cross the stripe in first to pick up the $700 top prize.

Kevin Jinkersen got around Murphy to claim the second spot with Murphy, Grunert and Palmer rounding out the top-five. Chris Van Roekel, Ted Ahart, Lonnie Lennard, Ronnie Richards and Mike Stoeckle completed the top-10. Sixteen Pure Stocks were in action during the evening. Heat race wins were claimed by Jason Palmer and Jesse Van Roekel.

John Littlejohn raced to his second consecutive win in the Mini Truck division on Saturday and extended his current point lead. Littlejohn led flag-to-flag in the 15-lapper. Tom Stanwood, Aaron Rupley, Russell Murphy and Megan Curtis completed the top-five. Six Mini Trucks were in competition on Saturday with the heat race win picked off by Littlejohn.

The Placerville Speedway returns to action on Saturday June 30 with one of the biggest events of the season. For the first time ever, the King of the West-NARC Fujitsu Winged 410 Sprint Cars and the Sprint Car Challenge Tour Winged 360’s presented by Elk Grove Ford and Abreu Vineyards will compete at the quarter-mile on the very same night. Tickets are available for the much anticipated show at

Just a few days later the annual “Freedom Fireworks” event will then take place on Wednesday July 4. Divisions on hand for the always fun Independence Day spectacular include the Thompson’s Auto Group Winged 360 Sprint Cars, Ltd. Late Models and Pure Stocks. Tickets are available for the 4th of July show at

bottom of page