Placerville Speedway hosts Law Enforcement – Big Trophy Night this Saturday May 5

Placerville, CA – The Placerville Speedway is ready and excited to open the month of May with one of the more anticipated events of the year this Saturday May 5 when the quarter-mile plays host to “Law Enforcement – Big Trophy Night.”

This Saturday’s Cinco de Mayo showcase is expected to be a fun night with agency mascots, special agency vehicles and officers on site to discuss community involvement with spectators. As a special thank you for all their efforts in helping to keep us safe, Law Enforcement will get into the races this Saturday for just $10 with ID.

The Thompson’s Auto Group Winged 360 Sprint Cars, Ltd. Late Models and Pure Stocks will also be vying for one of the special five-foot tall perpetual trophies handed out to the winners on Big Trophy Night. In addition to the three speedway regulars the traveling BCRA Midget Lites will also be on hand during the evening.

“We’re looking forward to Saturday’s Law Enforcement and Big Trophy Night at Placerville Speedway,” commented RMI President Scott Russell. “The first two Red Hawk Casino point races have been entertaining and this Saturday we welcome back the Winged 360’s and Ltd. Late Models. The weather looks like it is going to be spot on, so we hope everyone can make it out. Kami has a lot of special things planned this weekend and has worked tirelessly on the event.”

The Thompson’s Auto Group Winged 360 Sprint Cars are set for their second point race of the season on Saturday and what will be their only appearance during the month of May. Defending Winged 360 track champion Steven Tiner started out the season in victory lane and will hope to make it back-to-back this weekend. The Visalia racer picked off three wins last year.

Five-time champ Andy Forsberg will be looking to snag a victory on Saturday however, and is just three-points back of Tiner going into point race number two. More drivers expected will include Roseville’s Sean Becker, Placerville’s Jimmy Trulli, Cameron Park’s Shane Hopkins, Shingle Springs Justin Johnson, Hollister’s Tony Gualda, Clarksburg’s Justyn Cox, Sacramento’s Bobby Butler, Elk Grove’s Greg Decaires, Foresthill’s Jodie Robinson, Placerville’s CJ Humphreys, Mike Cook and Cody Fendley, Napa’s Chris Masters and others.

The opening Ltd. Late Model event two weeks back was captured by Ryan McDaniel in the potent Matt Farnham No. 32 machine. Defending track champion Matt Michelli, Matt Davis, Tyler Lightfoot and Eddie Gardner completed the top-five going into point race two. Last years champion Jason Palmer has claimed the first two Pure Stock races of the season and leads the field heading into Saturday. Nick Baldwin, Scott Grunert, Russ Murphy and Rick Grunert round out the top-five.

Dakota Albright won the first BCRA Midget Lite event of the season held at Placerville Speedway on April 21. Bradly Dillard, Hunter Kinney, Danika Jo Parker and Gus Carcione completed the top-five.