top of page

NEWS AND UPDATES:  news post

Steven Tiner claims Tribute to Al Hinds at Placerville Speedway

Steven Tiner, Ryan McDaniel, Jason Palmer and Dakota Albright take Tribute to Al Hinds wins at Placerville Speedway

Placerville, CA – April 21, 2018…Defending Thompson’s Auto Group Winged 360 Sprint Car champion Steven Tiner fired off the first warning shot that he is back and wanting another after claiming opening night on Saturday at the Placerville Speedway.

Also joining Tiner in victory lane at the Red Hawk Casino championship opener/ Tribute to Al Hinds were Ryan McDaniel with the Ltd. Late Models, Jason Palmer with the Pure Stocks and Dakota Albright with the BCRA Midget Lites.

Hollister’s Tony Gualda took command at the waving of the green flag in the Winged 360 Sprint Car feature. Early on Justyn Cox and Justin Johnson battled for the runner up spot before Cox assumed the position on lap seven.

A double file restart then saw Cox make a great move to take over the top-spot heading into turn three. The multi-groove surface allowed for great racing all through the field as positions changed regularly.

Gualda and Cox continued to race closely together until a lapped car spun in front of Cox on lap 21, causing him to tip over and end his bid at victory. On the ensuing restart Gualda and Steven Tiner began to battle for the lead, but contact occurred off the second corner, which resulted in Gualda getting upside down, putting an end to his night.

The final restart of the evening saw Jimmy Trulli make a bid for the lead but couldn’t pull it off as Tiner took the checkered flag. Trulli, Andy Forsberg, Shane Hopkins and Justin Johnson rounded out the top-five.

The Butler brothers Bobby and Billy picked off the two heat races held during the night. The ADCO Driveline and Custom Exhaust Fast Time Award to start the night was claimed by Andy Forsberg with a time of 11.201. A total of 17 sprint cars signed into the pit area.

The Ltd. Late Model main event saw Ryan McDaniel get the jump of the field and hold command as drivers battled it out behind him. Defending champion Matt Michelli then made his presence known on lap 15 and was able to get around McDaniel to take the lead, but a caution at the same time negated the move.

The rest of the way saw Michelli try and get back by, but McDaniel held on to grab the opening night win. Michelli, Terry Kuntz, Matt Davis and Tyler Lightfoot completed the top-five.

McDaniel and Michelli captured the two heat races held. Thirteen Ltd. Late Models signed into the pit area.

Defending Pure Stock champion Jason Palmer started off 2018 with the same strength that he held last year and ended the night in victory lane yet again. Early on the feature it was a battle between Rick Grunert and Orville Owens. With six-laps complete Jason Palmer would move into second, but suffer a flat tire, forcing him to the work area and then to the rear of the field. On the restart Owens, who was the leader, spun around and handed the lead to Scott Grunert.

Palmer at this time was on the charge through the field after restarting at the rear. On lap 15 Palmer closed in on the leader and on lap 17 was able to charge past Grunert to move into the top-spot. After this it was all Palmer who took the checkered flag ahead of Rick Grunert, Nick Baldwin, Scott Grunert and Ross Murphy.

Nick Baldwin and Chris Van Roekel won the two heat races held. Sixteen Pure Stocks were on hand during the night.

Scott Kinney got the jump in the BCRA Midget Lite main event over Gus Carcione. Dakota Albright came to life early and took over second before grabbing the lead with two circuits complete. Bradly Dillard was one of the drivers on the move early as well, carving his way from ninth to third. The Midget Lites always provide good, close, competitive racing and this night was no different. Albright crossed the stripe in first ahead of Dillard, Hunter Kinney, Danika Jo Parker and Gus Carcione in the top-five.

Scott Kinney and Steven Brown won the two heat races. A total of 11 BCRA Midget Lites were on hand.

Full results can be viewed at

The Placerville Speedway returns to action next Saturday April 28 with the C&H Veteran Ent. presents Hunt Magnetos Wingless Tour, Pure Stocks, Mini Trucks and Dwarf Cars. More info can be found at