top of page

NEWS AND UPDATES:  news post

Reigning champ Mason Moore returns to Placerville victory lane

Mason Moore, Ryan McDaniel, Jason Palmer and Scott Kinney take home Placerville Speedway victories on Saturday


Placerville, CA – June 3, 2017…Reigning Thompson’s Auto Group Winged 360 Sprint Car champion Mason Moore of Princeton took full advantage of starting on the pole in the feature and led all 25-laps to claim his first Placerville Speedway victory of the season on Saturdaynight.

Also sharing victory lane at the fifth Red Hawk Casino championship point race of the season were Ryan McDaniel in the Ltd. Late Models, Jason Palmer in the Pure Stocks and Scott Kinney with the BCRA Midget Lites.

Moore shot to the lead at the waving of the green flag in the Thompson’s Auto Group Sprint Car main event, while current point leader Greg Decaires carved his way to second, getting under outside front row starter Andy Forsberg. Track work prior to the feature had made the bottom line the preferred groove during the early stages, but once it wore out fans were treated to some fantastic racing over the final 10-circuits.

Forsberg then dropped to fourth on lap 16, as Wilton’s Matt Peterson was able to sneak under just prior to the caution flag waving. When going back green however, Forsberg had enough of following along down low and charged to the high-side of the quarter-mile bullring. Giving fans a glimpse of why he is called “Mr. Excitement” the five-time track champion blasted into second on lap 18 and quickly came after the leader.

With 19-laps complete Forsberg looked as if he would get by for the lead while running the cushion through turns three and four, but at the same time Moore had slipped up the track. Things got fairly tight and ultimately saw Forsberg get over the edge, spinning to a stop and ending his thrilling charge towards the front. After that it was all Moore as he took the checkered flag for season win number one aboard the Friends & Family Racing X1 machine.

Peterson came out on top of an entertaining duel for second with Decaires to earn a very solid runner up finish. Following some tough luck over the early course of the season it was nice to see him have a solid night. Decaires was then able to narrowly beat out a fast moving Jimmy Trulli of Placerville at the stripe to claim the final spot on the podium. Trulli’s impressive run from the fifth row netted him fourth at the conclusion, with Visalia’s Steven Tiner rounding out the top-five.

Sean Becker set the ADCO Driveline and Custom the Exhaust fast time to begin the night with a lap of 11.331 around the quarter-mile. The B-main was captured by DJ Freitas, while heat races went to Matt Peterson, Steven Tiner, Mason Moore and Greg Decaires. A strong field of 28 Thompson’s Auto Group Winged 360 Sprint Cars were in action at round four on Saturday.

The Ltd. Late Model main event was all about Ryan McDaniel, who led all 20-laps to score his third win of the season at Placerville Speedway. Current point leader Matt Michelli made a lap 13 pass of Ray Trimble to claim the runner up spot. Trimble, Tyler Lightfoot and Scott Woessner completed the top-five.