top of page

NEWS AND UPDATES:  news post

Hangtown 100 goes green at Placerville Speedway this Thursday

By Gary Thomas

Placerville, CA…Penngrove, California’s Michael “Buddy” Kofoid will lead the USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midget Series into the third running of the “Hangtown 100” at Placerville Speedway, which all kicks-off this Thursday November 17th.

In 2016, Kofoid became the youngest winner in Placerville Speedway Sprint Car history at the age of 14 and will be a favorite to take home the big money at this weekend’s Hangtown 100. The now 20-year-old driver has raced to 10 USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midget victories this season as of press time.

Going into the USAC National Midget event tomorrow in Bakersfield, Kofoid possesses a 194-point lead over fellow California native Justin Grant. San Jose’s Thomas Meseraull ranks third followed by Colby, Kansas driver Bryant Wiedeman and Raisin City, CA wheel-man Mitchell Moles, who rounds out the top-five in the standings.

The Hangtown 100 this Thursday, Friday and Saturday November 17th, 18th and 19th marks the third ever appearance by the USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midget Series to the Placerville Speedway. The USAC Midgets will be joined each night by BCRA and CLS Wingless Lightning Sprints.

Three-night Reserved ticket packages for the Hangtown 100 cost $120, while three-night General Admission packages are available for $100. Reserved seating will make up rows F-T and General Admission will be comprised of rows A-E. Pit pass combo upgrades are available for $20 each day. Single day tickets are also available. To purchase your seats, visit or get them at the gate.

Last season saw Ione’s Justin Grant pick up a big victory in the 100-lap feature, while Sutter’s Logan Seavey captured the overall Hangtown 100 points championship for the three days. The event will once again utilize a modified Trophy Cup style format, featuring larger than normal inverts. The format has made for tremendous racing the first two years of the show.

To stay up to date with event news be sure and visit and follow along on Twitter

Happy Hour is offered when the gates open at 3pm until 6pm in the grandstands featuring live music along with discounted Coors Light and Coors Original at the beer booth. Racing is slated to begin around 6pm.

The Placerville Speedway is located on the beautiful El Dorado County Fairgrounds in Placerville, California. Take Hwy US-50 to Forni Road/Placerville Drive exit. Then go north on Placerville Drive to the Fairgrounds. The physical address is 100 Placerville Dr., Placerville, CA 95667. For more information on the Placerville Speedway log onto

Join over 16,000 followers of Placerville Speedway on Facebook, where you can keep abreast of updates for the 2022 season. You can also find Placerville Speedway on Twitter by following us - In addition, Placerville Speedway is also on Instagram. Please follow us @PvilleSpeedway.

Upcoming events at Placerville Speedway: Thursday November 17: USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midgets plus Wingless BCRA/ California Lightning Sprints | Hangtown 100 Friday November 18: USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midgets plus Wingless BCRA/ California Lightning Sprints | Hangtown 100 Saturday November 19: USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midgets plus Wingless BCRA/ California Lightning Sprints | Hangtown 100 ------------- HANGTOWN 100 ENTRY LIST: (53 ENTRIES)

CAR # | DRIVER | HOMETOWN | ENTRANT 00 JAKE ANDREOTTI/Castro Valley, CA (Pete Davis) 01 BRYANT WIEDEMAN/Colby, KS (Keith Kunz-Curb-Agajanian Motorsports) 08 CANNON McINTOSH/Bixby, OK (Dave Mac Dalby Motorsports) 08x MICHAEL PICKENS/Auckland, NZ (Dave Mac Dalby Motorsports) 2J JUSTIN GRANT/Ione, CA (RMS Racing) 3v JIM VANZANT/Prescott, AZ (Jim Vanzant) 4 JAKE HODGES/Camarillo, CA (Jake Hodges) 4x COREY DAY/Clovis, CA (Willie Kahne) 5K BEN WORTH/Coalinga, CA (Dean Alexander) 5T KEVIN THOMAS JR./Cullman, AL (Dean Alexander) 6K MIKE SNIDER/Kelseyville, CA (Lauren Snider) 7NZ ®TRAVIS BUCKLEY/Auckland, NZ (BSL Racing) 7x THOMAS MESERAULL/San Jose, CA (RMS Racing) 8 RANDI PANKRATZ/Atascadero, CA (Wally Pankratz) 9 BLAKE BOWER/Brentwood, CA (Tony Boscacci) 9AU SPENCER BAYSTON/Lebanon, IN (Dyson Motorsport) 11K NATHAN BYRD/Goodyear, AZ (Kruseman Motorsports) 14J MICHAEL FACCINTO/Hanford, CA (Graunstadt Enterprises) 14T DYLAN BLOOMFIELD/Oakley, CA (Graunstadt Enterprises) 17B ®AUSTIN BARNHILL/Wilmington, NC (Dave Mac Dalby Motorsports) 17w SHANE GOLOBIC/Fremont, CA (Matt Wood Racing) 19 ALEX BRIGHT/Collegeville, PA (Reinbold-Underwood Motorsports) 19AZ HAYDEN REINBOLD/Gilbert, AZ (Reinbold-Underwood Motorsports) 22G ZACH TELFORD/Middleton, ID (GR Motorsports) 25 TYLER COURTNEY/Indianapolis, IN (Tom Malloy) 25m ®JACOB DENNEY/Galloway, OH (Tom Malloy) 25x EMERSON AXSOM/Franklin, IN (Tom Malloy) 25K TAYLOR REIMER/Bixby, OK (Keith Kunz-Curb-Agajanian Motorsports) 26 CHANCE CRUM/Snohomish, WA (Rudeen Racing) 31B KYLE BEILMAN/Los Angeles, CA (Beilman Motorsports) 32 CADEN SARALE/Stockton, CA (Caden Sarale) 57 DANIEL WHITLEY/Ferndale, CA (Abacus Racing) 58 LOGAN SEAVEY/Sutter, CA (Abacus Racing) 67 BUDDY KOFOID/Penngrove, CA (Keith Kunz-Curb-Agajanian Motorsports) 67K ®GAVIN MILLER/Allentown, PA (Keith Kunz/Curb-Agajanian Motorsports) 68 JASON McDOUGAL/Broken Arrow, OK (Six8 Motorsports) 71 KAYLEE BRYSON/Muskogee, OK (Keith Kunz-Curb-Agajanian Motorsports) 71E ®MARIAH EDE/Fresno, CA (Keith Kunz-Curb-Agajanian Motorsports) 71K ®DOMINIC GORDEN/Clovis, CA (Keith Kunz/Curb-Agajanian Motorsports) 71m TANNER CARRICK/Lincoln, CA (Keith Kunz/Curb-Agajanian Motorsports) 71p DAISON PURSLEY/Locust Grove, OK (Keith Kunz-Curb-Agajanian Motorsports) 73 JAKE SWANSON/Anaheim, CA (Josh Ford Motorsports) 73x CHASE JOHNSON/Penngrove, CA (Josh Ford Motorsports) 84 ®JADE AVEDISIAN/Clovis, CA (CB Industries) 86 COLBY COPELAND/Roseville, CA (CB Industries) 87w RYAN BERNAL/Hollister, CA (Matt Wood Racing) 88 TANNER THORSON/Minden, NV (Tanner Thorson Racing) 89 ®MITCHEL MOLES/Raisin City, CA (CB Industries) 89x CHRIS WINDOM/Canton, IL (CB Industries) 97 BRENHAM CROUCH/Lubbock, TX (Keith Kunz-Curb-Agajanian Motorsports) 97K RYAN TIMMS/Oklahoma City, OK (Keith Kunz-Curb-Agajanian Motorsports) 99AU CARSON MACEDO/Lemoore, CA (Dyson Motorsport) 101 ®CADE LEWIS/Bakersfield, CA (Dean Alexander)

® represents a USAC National Midget Rookie of the Year Candidate

Image courtesy of Paul Trevino Photos



bottom of page