top of page

NEWS AND UPDATES:  news post

Big Trophy Night marks penultimate point race for Placerville Speedway Saturday

The El Dorado County Fairgrounds based Placerville Speedway sets its sights on the final two Hoosier Tires championship point races of the season, which gets underway with Coors Light Big Trophy Night on Saturday.

Thanks to the El Dorado County Fair Association, parking will be free of charge during the entire month of August at Placerville Speedway. Live music will be performed in the shaded entertainment zone by Kyliana Mari prior to the races from 4-6pm.

As always, Coors Light and Coors Banquet Happy Hour pricing will occur from 3-6pm at the Coors Light Cold Zone. The facility offers great family entertainment and some of the best racetrack cuisine in California. Coors Light will have representatives on hand giving away swag during heat races and through features from 7:30-9:30pm.

The Thompson’s Family of Dealerships Winged 360 Sprint Cars, Anrak Ltd. Late Models and the Red Hawk Casino Pure Stocks will all be vying for one of the special five-foot tall perpetual trophies handed out to the winners on Big Trophy Night. In addition to that, the Mini Truck division is locked and loaded for its championship finale on Saturday.

After last weekend’s action Hanford’s Michael Faccinto has extended his Thompson’s Winged Sprint Car point lead to 49-markers heading into Saturday. The 33-year-old pilot continues to display stellar consistency, coming off his eighth top-five effort in 10 races.

Modesto’s Tony Gomes will be gunning for victory after being involved in an accident last Saturday that wasn’t of his doing. Gomes leads the way with three wins this year. Placerville’s Shane Hopkins has shown strength this season, especially as of late, and will be a favorite to park it in victory lane at Coors Light Big Trophy Night.

Wilton’s Ashlyn Rodriguez, Dunigan’s Luke Hayes, Napa’s Chris Masters, Yuba City’s Seth Standley, Lincoln’s Tanner Carrick, Elk Grove’s Bubba Decaires and Shingle Springs Justin Johnson round out the top-10 in points.

Last weeks winner Justyn Cox is scheduled to return on Saturday and will be searching to make it back to back on the red clay. Dylan Bloomfield has earned podium finishes each of the last two weeks and will be another hoping to end his night on the front stretch, as will nine-time track champ Andy Forsberg, who displayed immense speed last Saturday.

Two-time Anrak Late Model champion Dan Jinkerson brings the point lead into the penultimate championship point race of the campaign. The Diamond Springs wheel-man has picked off a trio of wins this year and will look to add a fourth on Big Trophy Night.

Auburn’s Ray Trimble, Placerville’s Tyler Lightfoot, Yuba City’s Rod Oliver and Matt Davis complete the top-five in the standings. Dan Brown Jr. and Carnett Clash Paul Gugliomoni will also be favorites. This Saturday’s showcase will be the eighth Anrak Corporation Ltd. Late Model event of the season on the red clay.

With two events remaining Oakley’s Nick Baldwin possesses a 25-point advantage atop the Red Hawk Casino Pure Stock standings. The four-time champion has scooped up five wins this year, including a thrilling triumph at the Carnett Clash last weekend.

Diamond Springs’ Kevin Jinkerson has executed another solid season and ranks runner up in the points, followed by Camino’s Kenny Bernstein, who has also displayed speed in 2023, Greenwood’s Chris D’angelo and Elk Grove’s Micky D’angelo in the top-five. Auburn’s Tom Arbogast suffered a heartbreak last Saturday at the Carnett and looks for redemption on Coors Light Big Trophy Night.

Former Mini Truck champion Mike Miller of Placerville looks to bag a second Placerville Speedway title on Saturday. He brings a 19-point leader over Paige Miller in the standings into Big Trophy Night. Two-time winner this year Wyatt Lakin, Luke Costa and Brycen Bragg complete the top-five.

Tickets and Details:

Grandstand seating is general admission at Coors Light Big Trophy Night this Saturday August 12th, except for the reserved seats marked for season ticket holders. Adult tickets cost $18, while seniors 62+, military and juniors 12-17 will be $16. Kids 6-11 cost $7 and those five and under are free.

Purchase tickets online at or at the gate on race day. Pit passes can be purchased at the pit gate or on Pit Pay to take advantage of the expanded seating area on the hill.

The pit gate will open at noon, with the front gate opening at 3pm. Happy Hour is offered when the gates open until 6pm in the grandstands featuring live music along with discounted Coors Light and Coors Original at the beer booth. The pit meeting will be held at 4:45pm with cars on track at 5:15. Hot laps, ADCO Driveline qualifying and racing will follow.

For those who can’t make it to the track, CaliDirt.TV will provide live flag-to-flag coverage of every Placerville Speedway point race this season. The live streaming service also includes each event with the Sprint Car Challenge Tour in 2023. Fans can purchase through a monthly membership or on a per race basis via

The Placerville Speedway is located on the beautiful El Dorado County Fairgrounds in Placerville, California. Take Hwy US-50 to Forni Road/Placerville Drive exit. Then go north on Placerville Drive to the Fairgrounds. The physical address is 100 Placerville Dr., Placerville, CA 95667. For more information on the Placerville Speedway log onto

Join over 16,800 followers of Placerville Speedway on Facebook, where you can keep abreast of updates for the 2023 season. You can also find Placerville Speedway on Twitter by following us - In addition, Placerville Speedway is also on Instagram. Please follow us @PvilleSpeedway.

Upcoming events at Placerville Speedway:

Saturday August 12: Winged 360 Sprint Cars, Ltd. Late Models, Pure Stocks and Mini Trucks | Big Trophy Night presented by Coors Light

Saturday August 26: Winged 360 Sprint Cars, Ltd. Late Models, Pure Stocks and Nor-Cal Dwarf Cars| Legends Night/ Western Sprint Tour NW Speedweek Finale

Saturday September 2: Winged 360 Sprint Cars and Wingless Spec Sprints | 6th annual Nor*Cal Posse Shootout presented by Adrian Blanco Jewelry Sunday September 3: Winged 360 Sprint Cars and Wingless Spec Sprints | 6th annual Nor*Cal Posse Shootout presented by Pville Speedway’s Official Realtor, Taylor Hirst and Hirst Home Team

Story by Gary Thomas. Images courtesy of Tim Holland and D&P Photos



bottom of page