Heated Battles resume Saturday in Jackson Rancheria Championship Series at Placerville Speedway

PLACERVILLE, CA – After a week off for the El Dorado County Fair, event, weekly points racing resumes this Saturday night in the Jackson Rancheria Championship Season at Placerville Speedway. Four divisions will be on the menu this week in an action packed event that will wave the green flag on the final half of the season at the El Dorado County Fairgrounds quarter-mile dirt track.

Winged 360 Sprint Cars, Limited Late Models and Pure Stocks will return to action on the quarter mile in the battle for the 2014 track championship presented by the New Jackson Rancheria Casino Resort, Hoosier Tires, The Mountain Democrat and Thompson’s Auto and Truck Centers. The three anchor divisions will be joined by exciting Hunt Magnetos Wingless Sprint Car Series in their first visit here of the season.

Entering Saturday’s event, the battle for the Championship is truly heating up in the Winged Sprint Car division as Justin Sanders of Prunedale has returned to the helm in the standings. Three time winner Sanders is a mere single point ahead of previous leader and one time winner Greg DeCaires of Elk Grove. Sitting just 28-points out of the lead is local favorite Jimmy Trulli of Placerville.

Former Rookie of the Year Jake Morgan of Fair Oaks is fourth in the standings, 42-points out of the lead. Defending Champion Andy Forsberg of Auburn is fifth in the ranks and will be looking for his second straight win of the year at Placerville this week and fourth overall at the track he calls home.

In the Limited Late Model division, 2012 Champion Matt Micheli of Live Oak tops the ranks in the standings. Still looking for his first win of the year, Micheli is 20 points ahead of Jay Norton of Shingle Springs. Two time winner Ray Trimble of Auburn is third in the standings and tied with defending champion and one time winner Tom Tilford of Citrus Heights.

Former track champion Dan Brown. Jr of Rocklin rounds out the top five in this division. Brown is 70 points from the leader in the division that has seen 20 different drivers compete and earn points this year.

In Pure Stock action, Scott Grunert of Woodland continues to lead the standings by a 13 point margin over Eddie Gardner of Sacramento. One time winner Tim Mack of El Dorado is third in the ranks, 15-points from the top spot. Rick Grunert of Woodland is fourth, 21-points out, and Danielle Clauson from Placerville rounds out the top five, 42-points from the lead.

The three regulars will be joined by the competitive Hunt Magnetos Wingless Sprint Car Series. Look for a preview of this division coming shortly from their front office as they make their first Placerville appearance following a rain out earlier in the year.

The grandstands will open at 5 p.m. Saturday night with qualifying at 6:30 p.m. Adults are $15, Seniors $13, Juniors are $12, Children $5 and those 5 and under are free. Placerville Speedway is located on the El Dorado County Fairgrounds at 100 Placerville Drive and is sponsored by the Jackson Rancheria Casino Resort who offers $25 in free play to every race fan this Saturday night. Additional sponsors include The Mountain Democrat, Thompson’s Toyota, ADCO Drive Lines, Hoosier Racing Tires and Riebes Auto Parts of El Dorado County.

Join nearly 5000 friends of Placerville Speedway on Facebook, where you can interact with other fans, drivers and staff in a positive, family friendly fashion. You can also follow Placerville Speedway on twitter to keep up to date on events to come. Visit the official track website at www.placervillespeedway.com.