Four divisions on tap for second championship point race Saturday



PLACERVILLE, CA – After last week’s capacity crowd in the grandstands and packed pit area, Placerville Speedway is geared up for another big night of championship point racing this Saturday night with four divisions competing in the second Jackson Rancheria Casino Resort event of the season. Winged Sprint Cars will return this week along with the firebreathing Late Model stock cars, Pure Stocks and the visiting Midget Lites of the Bay Cities Racing Association (BCRA).

In the Sprint Car division, Auburn’s Andy Forsberg began the new year much like he finished the last with a victory last week. Forsberg, 37, took command of the feature event before the midway point last Saturday to drive to victory lane aboard his Pit Stop USA #X1 Sprint Car where he was followed by Elverta’s Steven Tiner, Wilton’s Matt Peterson and Placerville’s Andy Gregg.

After night one, Forsberg leads the championship point standings. Tiner is four points behind in second place. Gregg is third in the ranks. Seven points behind the leader and tied with Peterson. Willie Croft of Sacramento rounds out the top five in the early standings.

The Limited Late Model division had impressive car counts but suffered a rough and tumble start last week numerous damaging collisions. In the end, eighth place starter Ryan McDaniel of Olivehurst took home the win over Vacaville’s Paul Gugliomoni, Ray Trimble of Auburn, Tom Tilford of Citrus Heights and Matt Micheli of Live Oak.

The early point standings in this division have McDaniel at the top with a two point lead over Gugleilmoni. Trimble is third followed by Micheli and Randy McDaniel.

The Pure Stock Division saw the familiar face of defending champion Les Friend take home the trophy on opening night. Friend led every lap of the 20 lap feature event and finished the night Friend held off the efforts of second place finisher Scott Grunert to the line. Chris Van Roekel of Grass Valley finished third over Tim Mack of Diamond Springs.

Placerville Speedway’s 2014 championship season is sponsored by the new Jackson Rancheria Casino Resort who invites the racing community to their newly remodeled 257,000 square foot entertainment facility just south of El Dorado County. Additional sponsorship provided by Hoosier Tires, Coors Light, The Mountain Democrat, Riebes Auto Parts, ADCO Driveline, the Paint Spot and more. Complete point standings can be found at :

The grandstands will open at 5 p.m. Saturday night with qualifying at 6:30 p.m. Adults are $15, Seniors $13, Juniors are $12, Children $5 and those 5 and under are free. Placerville Speedway is located on the El Dorado County Fairgrounds at 100 Placerville Drive.

Join over 4000 friends of Placerville Speedway on Facebook, where you can interact with other fans, drivers and staff in a positive, family friendly fashion. You can also follow Placerville Speedway on twitter to keep up to date on events to come.