Ensign First Repeat Winner of 2013

062213-05PLACERVILLE, CA (6-22-13) – Sebastopol’s Geoff Ensign enjoyed a big weekend this past Friday and Saturday night. On Friday night he won a non-wing sprint car main event at Stockton. On Saturday night, Ensign cemented his name as one of the most talented non-wing drivers in all of America with the dominating win during the fourth round of racing for the Joe Hunt Magnetos Wingless Sprint Shootout Series. With the win, he also becomes the first repeat winner during the Hunt series for 2013. His previous win was at his home track at Petaluma. “We really like racing here and I just want to thank the track for bringing the series here and Roger for giving us a great series to compete in,” said Ensign during his post-race interview with Bill Sullivan.

Matt Streeter started on the pole position for the 19-car starting main event. Streeter won both Hunt races at Placerville last year and was in a prime spot to give him another win this year. Streeter did grab the lead while heading through turns one and two; however, Ensign was to his outside and passed Streeter going through turns three and four. Ensign led the first lap. From here on out Ensign was able to dominate the event while running the bottom to perfection. Streeter tried to redeem himself by driving around the top of the track and using the famous Placerville curb to keep his momentum up.

As usual the Hunt series cars and stars were able to put on a great show. Numerous close battles on the track resulted in thrilling side-by-side racing. “There is always something exciting happening around this track,” said Ensign.

Fifth place starting Colton Slack has emerged as a front runner late with the Hunt Series. He slid his way in front of Streeter late in the race. Third place starting Scott Hall had an up and down night. Hall was in the thick of the battle to stay in the top five, when he crossed the line he was credited with the third place finish. Streeter ended up in the fourth place position. Round number three feature event winner Terry Schank Jr. brought the Joe Hunt Magneto’s #1 home fifth.

Heat race winners included Matt Streeter, Austin Liggett and Colton Slack. Terry Schank Jr. was the quickest qualifier at a 12.295.

For the first time, the series will highlight the racing at Silver Dollar Speedway on July 4th. Two weeks later the series will make its first ever trip to Orland Speedway on July 20th. Final three shows of the year include August 10th at Petaluma, September 4th and conclude September 21st at Petaluma Speedway. All of the events at Petaluma will coincide with the Pit Stop USA Spec Sprint Series.