ADCO Driveline and Custom Exhaust Back on Board as Fast Time Award Sponsor

ADCO Driveline and Custom Exhaust Back on Board as Fast Time Award Sponsor

Placerville Speedway is proud to announce ADCO Driveline and Custom Exhaust as the returning sponsor of the Fast Time Award for the 2016 Red Hawk Casino Championship Season.

“We are thrilled to have Ken Short of ADCO back on board this year as the Fast Time sponsor for our weekly racing series”, track promoter Scott Russell said. “Ken’s passion for the sport and dedication to this race track over the years is evident in all the race teams he helps, and he is a true asset to Placerville Speedway.”

A native of Placerville, Short has spent his entire life at the 1/4 mile clay oval on Saturday nights. “I’ve been going to that old track since I was a baby”, he stated proudly. “I’m lucky enough to be able to give back to the speedway this way. It is a privilege to be involved.”

Short, a long time supporter of local racers such as Jimmy Trulli, C.J. Humphreys, Jake Morgan, and Ted Ahart, has been a pit crew member for James Sweeney the past couple of seasons. “I’ve been doing race car exhaust for 20 years”, he continued. “It’s a pleasure to be able to fix the bent headers and mufflers, and work on the exhaust systems of so many of the local race teams.”

The next time you are in need of some service to your vehicle’s muffler or driveline, consider contacting ADCO Driveline and Custom Exhaust at 4211 Sunset Lane, Suite 109 in Shingle Springs, or you can contact Ken Short at (530) 676-1516, and on the web at

For information on becoming an associate sponsor at Placerville Speedway, please inquire by email at

Placerville Speedway’s 2016 season officially kicks off this Saturday night, April 2nd, with the Red Hawk Casino Championship Series. Saturday’s race will mark the first of 17 point races on the year, featuring a four division program consisting of 360 Sprint Cars, Limited Late Models, Pure Stocks and Hard Tops. Pit gates will open at 2:00PM with the front gates opening at 3:00PM. Racing begins at 7:00PM.

Join the over 7000 followers of Placerville Speedway on Facebook, where you can interact with fellow fans, drivers, and staff. You can also find Placerville Speedway on Twitter for schedule updates and more by following us @pvillespeedway. In addition, Placerville Speedway is now on Instagram. Please follow us @PvilleSpeedway.

Placerville Speedway is located on the El Dorado County Fairgrounds at 100 Placerville Drive in Placerville. The racing facility is operated by Russell Motorsports Incorporated, which can be reached at the track business office at 530-344-7592.

Brad Sweet Presents the 2nd Annual Placerville Short Track Outlaw Showdown Presented by Riebes Auto Parts at Placerville Speedway


Placerville Speedway Banner

The World of Outlaws and the USAC Western States Midgets make their return to Placerville Speedway on Wednesday, March 23rd for the 2nd Annual running of the ‘Placerville Short Track Showdown‘ Presented by Riebes Auto Parts.

I grew up watching races here when I was younger, and this is one of the first couple of race tracks I ran on when I started my Sprint Car career”, Promoter Brad Sweet said about bringing the two powerhouse short track organizations to Placerville’s 1/4 mile clay oval. “This place is special to me. I won the first big race of my career here with the Civil War Series when I was 15 or 16. As a fan, I’ve always wanted to see the World of Outlaws run at Placerville. It’s a short 1/4 mile high banked track, and I know that is what the California fans want to see. There was an opportunity to try it last year, and fortunately it was successful enough to do it again this year.

Continue reading

Placerville Speedway Cancels March 19th Play Day

Placerville Speedway Banner

The “Play Day” scheduled for March 19th at Placerville Speedway has been canceled.

“I’m real disappointed to have to do this, but with the weather coming in, we are going to have a hard time turning around the racing surface for next Wednesday’s World of Outlaws race, if we don’t cancel Saturday’s Play Day”, promoter Scott Russell acknowledged. “We know it’s going to be perfect weather for the Play Day, but after much consideration, we feel it is best to cancel it, and focus on getting the track and pits prepped for our marquee event on Wednesday, March 23rd. We have discussed it with event promoter Brad Sweet, and we feel this is the best course of action if we are going to get the ‘Placerville Short Track Outlaw Showdown’ in.”

With rain expected Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday, a plan has been implemented to tarp the racing surface, as well as part of the pit area in order to protect it from heavy rain. “This technique was very effective last year in protecting the racing surface and the pit area, and Brad Sweet is sending a crew up on Saturday in order to place tarps around the facility once again”, Placerville Speedway PR Director Dean Mills said. “We will be making every effort to get this event in on Wednesday.”
Continue reading

DOMCO Plumbing Returns as Placerville Speedway Sponsor

For the past five years, Domco Plumbing has been a fixture at Placerville Speedway, and the 2016 racing season will be no different. “We are very pleased to announce that Dominic Stone of Domco Plumbing is returning to sponsor the Limited Late Model series for the coming year”, track promoter Scott Russell said. “Dom’s support of Placerville Speedway the past few years has been remarkable, and we are very glad to have him back on board for the coming season.”

Despite scaling back his on track efforts, Stone is excited to be a part of the 2016 Red Hawk Casino Championship season. “The past five years of racing Pure Stocks and Limited Late Models at Placerville Speedway has created many friendships and memories that will last a lifetime”, Dominic stated. “Although I will not personally be racing on dirt this season, I will continue to sponsor the Limited Late Model series, as well as Ryan and Randy McDaniel in that division. In addition, Domco Plumbing foreman Robert Rousch will be representing our company next season in the Pure Stock division.” Continue reading

Thompson’s Auto Group Signs on with Placerville Speedway for 26th Consecutive Season


For over a quarter century, Thompson’s Auto Group has been a mainstay at Placerville Speedway. With Scott Russell and Kami Arnold taking over the promotion of the 1/4 mile clay oval, resigning Thompson’s as a marketing partner was high on the priority list.

“We are grateful to Thompson’s Auto Group for their continued support of our racing endeavors”, Russell said. “Our history with Thompson’s goes back to 2001, when I began racing Sprint Cars. Ron and Jeff took a chance on a young racer and became my sponsor. They have been with us ever since. Kami and I are humbled that they have continued to support us in our new adventure as track promoters.”

Thompson’s Auto Group Executive General Manager Jeff Thompson is a lifelong racing enthusiast, and is pleased with his continued relationship with Placerville Speedway. “Growing Up, both my mom and dad raced every weekend, so racing has always been a huge part of our lives. We have always loved coming to the race track, and are amazed by all the loyal fans”, he continued. “Being a part of Placerville Speedway and its unique history is as ‘hometown’ as it gets. We love this old dirt track.” Continue reading